A Day In the Life

From “Lift Every Voice and Sing”

Stony the road we trod,
bitter the chastening rod,
felt in the days when hope unborn had died;
yet with a steady beat,
have not our weary feet
come to the place
for which our fathers died?

We have come over a way that with tears have been watered,
We have come, treading our path through the blood of the slaughtered,
out from the gloomy past,
till now we stand at last
where the white gleam
of our bright star is cast.

God of our weary years,
God of our silent tears,
thou who hast brought us thus far on the way;
thou who hast by thy might led us into the light,
keep us forever in the path, we pray.

Lest our feet stray from the places, our God, where we met thee;
lest our hearts drunk with the wine of the world, we forget thee,
shadowed beneath thy hand,
may we forever stand,
true to our God,
true to our native land.

Food for thought in this season of getting, grabbing and occasional giving.

One comment

  1. this is and the following season appear to be transformative season in football. everything apears to be on th table. the rise of the blac quarterback and the advance in football echnology they represent threaten football as usual the hierarchy that lives off football as usual.

    threatened thweir response is heightend racism and an all out attack on the very blac quarterbacks revolutionisng the game and even saving the jobs of the very racist hierarchy.

    whatever total form it takes and all that is involved I have been following the starting five and since the McNabb issue the site has entered a golden patch of coverage and comments I am forever enriched. I thought I knew american football but during the past 6 weeks or so I admit I was a dunce until this rich vein of dialogue began its flow on the five.

    the starting five is amazing and you temple are a treasue, a great resource indeed. I compliment you and thank you for your erudition. there is not an instance I have read you I have not leanred soemthing additionally.

    Orign is enthusiatic to a fault, sincere to the bone. so too is Miranda! I am fortunate to have come across you guys. I dont post anymore because I am outclassed and embarrassed, but more directly and unfortunately due to illness.

    I am diabetic with low blood sugar, hypoglycemic unawareness, and have been in a prolonged state of depression due they say, to the death of my wife 3 years ago this time of the year. I struggle with it all but it has been very hard. there is only a very small range of food I can eat for example, without triggering insulin attack, which proceeds to destroy my body.

    through july, august and september I lost all control, got fed up and just binged on all the food I should come near. I am still paying for that some of which you all experienced on starting five. I was posting nonsense and thought I was fully aware of what I was doing. that is the consequences of glycemic unawarness. I was on the edge and unaware of it, quite unconscious of the state I was in

    I feel very silly about that period, cant get over it for that matter and so I dont post anymore. I dont want to make any such faux pas’ again, conscious or unconscious.

    but I follow and learn. and apart from apology I want to let you know how I feel about the Five, about you and you and what really is your wisdom. I would love to have been as mature, as developed as you appear to be.

    keep up the work man! we will get there! we have done well and very quickly as a people, as you have pointed out on the Five in the Johnson to Obama thread. I worry currently because we are at a stage at which atrocity is very likely, for the empire is terminaly ill, the stage of financial monoply its last stage, and the elites are looking for a way to maintain their domination indefinetly.

    that does not appear possible to me unless there is world population reduction of a major kind, like in the billions. and of course here is technology to accomplish such mass murder very efficietly at this stage.

    all seem organised towards such a goal or end. there is for example slow mass death in the on the cards. the air, food and water are poisoned, as well as all onsumer products. the health services and pharmacology also appear organised to produce maximum and chronic negative effect on the ordinary population. it is probably wise to seek alernative health sevices while avoiding hospitals and official health service all entirely if is in need of such, and wishes to save ones life and those of family members.

    I watch with concern the trajectory of Obamas’ S-510 food safety bill in the american congress and understand that once such passes there, it will be imposed on the world. once the corporations get full control of our food and health I expect tha general health of the human population will degenerate much faster than it already appears to be doing.

    next concern is the corporate and international land-grab in Africa! Oh boy! I have not been following that much lately and I will get back to it soon. but the portents are not good.

    however your optimistic implication on the prognosis for the blac ethnic group of the human species, is helpful and I feel better, if only because I have become aware of the wealth of knowledge that underpins whatever you say.

    thansk for kowing you man. and all the best!

    mapoui!

    { I had this link before but lost it in a reinstalation of windows a couple of months ago. I have it again from you post today! thanks}

Leave a Reply

