Faces At the Bottom of My Well

Everywhere I look, I see these faces at the bottom of a well

and the faces are younger and stronger most every day

and few were as strong or as young as the face I saw today

The faces are cool-brown-easy and they each mask brilliance

and shield innocence and project vigilance.

I smile, but they don’t smile back

as if to say, “It’s not your time.”

On the life side we mark time with the death side

because their time is our time.

Life goes on to death goes on to life

and the circle in not broken

unless you dare not look

at the faces in the bottom of the well.

 

Do you see what I see?

Sean Taylor (1983-2007)

Sean Taylor - From TSF

Lucky Dube

Ralph Wiley

Joe Delaney

Marquise Hill

Kwame Toure

Ed Bradley

Dennis Johnson

Bobby Phills

Bryan Pata

Sekou Sundiata

And this does not even begin to do justice to the thousands of unnamed faces at the bottom of the well…

and there are those of us among the living so deeply scarred, we’d prefer to be at the bottom

no longer clinging to the sides – but that is not our fate.

Breathe love. Breathe love. Breathe love.

6 comments

  1. Why does God have to let us die? I always ask myself that question as well, but maybe He love us more than we love ourselves till where He may let some of us die to result in salvation for the rest of us. I love the fact that He has not killed all of us, for our foolishness. Thank you God for memories of these great men, and may God return them to peace to return to life again. 🙂

  2. I guess the answer to that question depends on what you believe about who we are and why we’re here…

    I can’t answer that one for you. It’s an interesting question, though. Some would argue that we “ourselves” are gods with power over life and death – including our own.

  3. It’s hard to smile sometimes Miranda. It makes me want to holler – the way they do my life! My thoughts keep going to Sean Taylor’s parents and his daughter.

  4. To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven. A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted; A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up.

    Death and life are but two aspect of existance, just different forms. We rejoice that those we love transist back to the busom of the universe, just as we love when we produce a new life as a testiment to the circle we are part of.

    I appreciate your tribute temple…for you honor those who have passed..as we should.

Leave a Reply

