What To Wear…to your best friend’s funeral

I’m 37 and didn’t think I would have to answer this question until at least 2030.  Tonite, two weeks to the day, before my best friend’s birthday, I went to his funeral.   I wore a black suit, a pink shirt, a striped tie, a black belt, black shoes, a watch, a beaded bracelet purchased in Korea, a silver bracelet from Tiffany’s, my wedding ring, Hanes boxers and a pair of ribbed black socks.

Tonite, all things are new, all things are old.  I am entirely the same and completely changed.  I am numb and raw.  I am 37 and that is what I wore to my best friend’s funeral.

6 comments

  1. You have my condolences and sympathy. I lost an amazing friend recently as well, sir. I will never be the same, and yet… I am, as you wrote.

Leave a Reply

