Foley? Don’t Change the Subject!!

When everyone comes to their senses, we’ll simply ignore these lurid tales in October.  FYI – It’s a distraction.  Americans would be wise to pass on this story until at least January.  The media whores can’t be expected to stop the feeding frenzy – but you can stop the reading frenzy.  Do I care about Foley?  Nope.  Should I care?  Probably – but not right now.   After all, how long has this been going on with the knowledge of major media?  I’d say at least 6 months.
I believe the topic was Iraq and tens of thousands dead based on a fabricated cause.  I believe the topic was the commission of war crimes.  Let’s stick to the topic, please.

Back to your regularly scheduled programming!

9 comments

  1. Its amazing how the American media works. We have lost fifteen more American service people over the last couple days, and what is getting attention? Its just another sex scandal. And it wasn’t even real sex.

    Florida Republican Rep. Mark Foley’s instant message records indicate he is a dude who gets off on fantasy cyber sex with teenaged boys. I believe this is the first virtual sex scandal in Washington DC political history.

    Back here in the real world, American men and women are killed, maimed and scarred, both physically and emotionally every day. War is hell. Finally, the mainstream media is beginning to support our troops by speaking the truth about their sacrifices. more

  2. “And it wasn’t even real sex.”

    It’s consistent with not having a real free press. I can proudly say I haven’t the foggiest idea what’s going on with that case. I’ll look into it at a more appropriate time. I was in transit yesterday and saw a blurb in the WSJ that some staffer resigned because he notified people about this 3 years ago. Well, there you have it. Timing is absolutely everything.

  3. I know, it’s frigging pathetic. I mean, I’m as cynical and schadenfreudic as the next political wonk; perhaps in other circumstances i’d share some of my friends’ glee in this scandal–oh, goodie, that’s the end of the Republicans! dead girl or live boy! well, we got a live one! YEE-HAW

    …whatever.

    Yeah, he’s a hypocritical exploitive scumbag. Film at eleven. did anyone notice, like, the entire fucking Constitution is being fed through the shredder handful by handful? and oh yeah, lots and lots and lots of DEAD PEOPLE, COMPLETELY UNNECESSARILY? o no of course not. we must win! team! TEAM!!

    i simply can’t imagine how i ever got this jaded, really.

    anyway, hope you don’t mind: i linked back and quoted extensively (actually pretty much all of it, now i’m looking again) one of your older pieces, “why blacks and white don’t dialog” (and the inspiring piece at Cobb). if it’s oversampled or you don’t want to be drawn in (i thought it might be interesting to people coming in off the aftershocks of the Hamsher thing–more drama in the B-list feministblogosphere, dunno if you’d been following).

  4. I don’t have a problem with that. That’s why it’s up here. If you can link it – it’s good to go. Besides, I’ll have to read it again to recall all of what I said.

  5. Well that’s just it…I’m not a reliable source of information on this because I’m explicitly choosing to ignore what I perceive to be a bullshit story. Some guy says he told the responsible parties about this 3 years ago. Sorry – too close to election day for me to pay attention. USA Today ran a story today about demands for English as the national language heating up. Another diversion. That shit doesn’t have to be settled now. It’s as irrelevant and extraneous as TITS on a BULL.

Leave a Reply

